Christmas in April?

It is when I get a Santa quilt finished in plenty of time to display it this coming Christmas which is still 8 months away! Yahoo!!

XmasScraps

This is actually the second quilt I have made from this fabric.  A few years back when hubby and I were living in England, I made it a point to visit every quilt/fabric shop I could find especially when we were vacationing around the UK.  This beautiful Christmas fabric collection was found in a shop in Cornwall.  I had fallen in love with it before I realized that it was manufactured by a US based company and imported to England.  Translation = double the cost per yard!!

But what is a girl to do when she has fallen in love and really, really wants the fabric? We all know that she buys it!!  And since I did NOT have a pattern in mind, I did not know how much yardage I needed. When estimating I gave myself plenty of wiggle room because I did NOT want to run out of fabric as I would probably never return to this particular shop (and to this date-2016- I have not been back) and chances of finding this line of fabric still being sold when I FINALLY got around to choosing a pattern and then sewing it were pretty nil!!  That being said, I justified the purchase of many yards of each fabric.  Little did I know that I had enough fabric to make not ONE twin-sized quilt but TWO twin-sized quilts plus a pieced backing!!!

 First quilt finished about 2013

XmasOriginal

With fabric still left over from the second quilt, I put on my designing cap and came up with the back.

XmasPileofScraps

From this pile to this back:

XmasScrapBack

So was my initial investment in all this fabric worth it?  Absolutely!!  When I gaze upon my finished quilts, I fall in love all over again with the fabric and remember the lovely time we spent in Cornwall and know that I made the right choice:)

Another unfinished project becomes a finished project!!  How are you doing in finishing those UFO”s?

Let’s Bee Social!

Leave a Reply

