Calendar Makeover 3 Ways – DECEMBER

Happy Holidays From All of us At StashLadies!!

 

Dec-Christmas Sampler

This month’s Makeover is chocked full of traditional elements.  We had many fun family traditions growing up with StashMomma & Poppa.  We made homemade movies for our families far away. (What gems those are now.  Who doesn’t LOVE family movies from the 80’s!!)  We baked goodie trays for our friends and neighbors. Homemade Christmas presents almost ALWAYS made an appearance under the tree.  And speaking of trees, how about the year that StashPoppa brought home a real charlie brown tree.  I think we tied red ribbons around the branches to disguise the lack of needles.  😉  *a note from QH- I recently re-watched one of those Christmas home movies we had written and scripted when we were young…. talk about cringe worthy!

 

StashMomma
~~~~~~~~
I love scraps!!  I love to take a pile and sort them into shapes and sizes and then ponder the possibilities.  This is what I started with:
XmasScraps

The fabric is from a kit that I purchased a number of years ago from Keepsake Quilting and yes, there was enough fabric in the kit to make 2 quilts with a pile of scraps leftover!!   The fabric was designed by Faye Burgos for Marcus Fabrics.  I love the Victorian look and old-fashioned appeal of the colors and prints.  In the pile were lots of strips, triangles, and odd shapes.
First I sewed together 8 “odd shaped” pieces that were perfect to form a hexagon and then add half-square triangles to the corners to make a square:
CenterSquare
Next, I sewed together some small strips: 

Strips

Then I sewed together half-square triangles to make a square.  Lucky for me the half-square triangles had already been cut for the correct direction of the wording:

HalfSquare

Now all I had to do was decide how to make this a calendar make-over.  Since the original design was squares in two columns, I decided to use the squares element and put them in three columns or a nine-patch configuration.  The finished size of the squares was dependent upon the center square as it was the smallest of them all.  So after “squaring” nine squares up, I sewed them into 3 strips of 3 squares each, then sewed the strips together.  This is the result of a very enjoyable afternoon of “creativity!”

Decmakeover

I am absolutely in love with the finished product, especially since the only cost involved was my time!!

Have a very Merry Christmas from the “StashLadies.”

 

Quilted Harmonies
~~~~~~~

Our family made a last minute decision to travel up to visit StashMomma and StashPoppa for Thanksgiving this year.  Since it is a long drive, we try to break it into two days- two days up, two days down.  So, between the driving, the visiting, and the eating, quilting and sewing wasn’t going to get much time.  (BTdubs- StashPoppa is a known Foodie, (and StashMomma a baker) so when I say eat, I really mean EAT.  We didn’t just have Thanksgiving dinner.  We had THANKSGIVING DINNER.)
Thinking outside of the box, I hit upon an excellent substitution:

raid StashMomma’s Stash! I found a Christmas panel that she had bought and stored away for an unknown-yet-sure-to-be-awesome project.  Named “Holiday Cheer” and designed by Jan Shade Beach for Henry Glass, I thought it matched the original quilt’s theme and motifs.

IMG_1171

There wasn’t a good way to cut the panel down as that would have cut off some of the postcard pictures, so I fussy cut them out, applied fusible web, and sprinkled them on a beautifully clean and simple background of the solid Snow by Art Gallery Fabrics.

I didn’t have time to hand bind anything, so I made a “faux” binding by sandwiching the back, batting, and top like you would to make a pillow, then sewing around the outside edge, making sure to leave an opening to turn everything right side out.  I used some chunky red thread from StashMomma’s stash to sew 1/4″ from the edge all the way around.  This gave a nice, simple, “binding” look.

IMG_3443

I finished the “postcards” by sewing around each raw edge with more of the chunky red cotton thread, a bulky blue cotton, and a shining green poly thread.

There was more of the panel leftover than I needed, but now I know what my Christmas cards will be!  Stay tuned!

Lovingly Lexi

~~~~~~~

 

December holds a very special place in my heart.  Each year I get so excited to put lights on the house, put up the tree in the family room and adorn every square inch of space with garlands, lights, glitter and well, Christmas!  I feel like people I encounter are easier with their smiles, greetings and holiday politeness.  I also “bombard” my children with traditions.  A fresh batch of cookies every Tuesday in December is one of their favorites.  Making Homemade Christmas Cards & Delivering Homemade Christmas Goodies to our friends and neighbors is one of my favorites!

With that said, I was so excited for this month’s Calendar Makeover.  I love traditional Red & Green so I really wanted to stick to the color scheme.  I used the “grid” on the original as my jumping off point.  

I gave myself 4 places to add in my pictures and a nice spot for journaling.
I plan to add in pictures of the kids doing some of our family traditions.

I did an “over-under” pattern for my grids and stitched with the sewing machine for a bit of detail.  I love that cute red and green stocking in the center.

 

I used Red Foil Thickers for the word December.  It pops off the page perfectly.

 

Of course, I had to use a bit of stickles glitter to dress up the berries and the word Christmas.  I popped the elements off the page with pop dots just to add a little dimension to my whole page.

My paper is from the WE R Memory Keepers YuleTide page kit.

I hope you have a Merry Christmas filled with Traditions and Cheer!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

