Days for Girls Africa Project

My local church has been working on a service project for the last year for an organization called Days for Girls. We have been cutting, serging, and sewing special feminine hygiene kits that will be sent to Africa. These kits will allow girls the opportunity for better and more education.  Why?

According to the Days for Girls website:

4de898d92b56e41266fb2d12ba9e1818

“What if not having sanitary supplies meant DAYS without school, DAYS without income, DAYS without leaving the house? Girls use leaves, mattress stuffing, newspaper, corn husks, rocks, anything they can find…but still miss up to 2 months of school every year. It turns out this issue is a surprising but instrumental key to social change for women all over the world. The poverty cycle can be broken when girls stay in school.”

f23dc54aa1b80b22bc91b457627bd8a5

I have always loved service projects like this, and using my sewing skills to help any good cause is not only fun, but fills my well. Sometimes it is easy for me to get down in the dumps and start naming off everything I stink at.  (My husband calls it “eating worms”- after the song)  If I can get myself to start doing something, anything, for someone else, it ALWAYS pulls me up and I can breathe again for another day.  

What great service ideas do you have?

 

Leave a Reply

