Calendar Makeover-3 Ways-JULY

JULY- the month of celebrations!!

In conjunction with celebrating the birth our great nation, many of us also celebrate with family and friends.  There are no better summer activities than getting together with those whom we love. 
The calendar quilt from 30 years ago is still in vogue.  For me, the flag of the USA never goes out of style!  Keep reading to see the updated versions of this classic!

Jul-Flag

Stashmomma
~~~~~~~~~~~~

  As I have said before, red, white, and blue are my favorite color combinations for the summer months and then throw in the US flag and I’m hooked! After much deliberation and myriad of ideas, I finally decided to combine some machine embroidery and expand the flag concept while adding emphasis to the stars that represent the unity of our nation. I love the simple look!

JulyFlag

Quilted Harmonies
~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Last month’s log cabin block actually inspired my redesign this month- I had such fun twisting and playing with my June beehive, and I realized it would look awesome as a birthday cake… and what better birthday to celebrate in July than our nation!

So, using fabric from my stash, I created this fun red, white, and blue cake complete with a firecracker candle that I hand embroidered using a stem stitch and gold bugle beads I re-purposed from another quilt I had re-worked.

File Jul 02, 4 17 27 PM

Lovingly Lexi
~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I love July. For our family it means that the kids are out of school, our major vacation is over and we can be chill at home.  We definitely take advantage of the warm days and cool evenings and cook lots of dinners on the grill and eat on the back porch.
*****
I took the classic design of the original calendar, recomposed it into a fun bunting and titled my monthly scrapbook page.  All of my paper came straight from my scrap bins.  I love the blue pattern that looks like a classic bandana.

July4

To title the page I dug into my stash and used these letters that I got off one of those home shopping channels (probably like 10 years ago now).  Can you believe these letters are from a Christmas Kit?  Shhhh…don’t tell them.  They think they are patriotic!!

July3

I may have mentioned it before, but one of my favorite techniques in using scrap papers is to use an embossing folder. I first glue all of my scrap pieces down and then I place it into a folder and run it thru my big shot!  Viola!  You have a blended piece that looks like it was meant to be together in the first place!  😉
I also punch holes in the top corners, added eyelets & strung a blue ribbon and hemp rope thru the holes to create the string.

July2

When I was creating my page, I actually cut up enough supplies to make 3 little bunting flags.  I am not one who likes to waste perfectly good strips of 3/4″ paper.  (Please don’t judge! haahaa) So I whipped up this cute little baby:

July1

I chose to K.I.S.S (Keep it Simple Silly) this card!
Once I glued the embossed flag down, I punched 2 holes on the left side, and string a blue ribbon and a length of hemp thru the card.  Finishing it with a simple bow.  It has texture and movement.  Perfect for a little thank you to your favorite hostess this month!!

Happy Independence Day!  From all of us StashLadies!!

Leave a Reply

