Calendar Makeover 3 Ways- APRIL

This is the original wall hanging

Apr-Kaleidoscope

It really almost has a modern flair to it-  
the dark Blue, light blue and the plain white fabric to pop the pattern really speaks timeless and is not at all dated.

~~~~~~~~~~~
StashMomma 

So when Lovingly Lexi mentioned that she saw hexagons for this pattern as a makeover, I decided to get creative and work with “hexies.”  Trust me, I am not a “hexie” gal so it was a challenge for me to even sew them but I finally got the hang of it, had fun sewing them together and decided to add dimension with midi tape from my stash.  I won’t tell you how old the midi tape is but just know that this wall hanging has a bit of something old, something new but unfortunately no blue!  The fabric comes from Art Gallery Fabrics, part of a collection we bought recently for another upcoming project.  When I saw these two pieces together the “hexies” came to life!  Enjoy!!

April wallhanging

~~~~~~~~~~~
Quilted Harmonies

Although I, too, saw the hexies in the original quilt, I decided that since I’d used them last month, I needed to do something different.  I am still really feeling the KISS (Keep it Simple, SuperStar) mantra with my quilting right now, and started turning over the idea to stick with very basic colors.

I also felt that I should actually follow the pattern for once, so instead of changing shapes this month, I played around with moving the colors around.  I had a fat quarter set from a Tina Givens collection by Westminster Fibers that I used by fussy cutting each piece to get the colors I wanted.  You can see that, for me, April is still all about Easter!  (Even though the Easter Bunny was lazy this year, and didn’t even get the baskets out!)

appliquéd the eyes and noses on, and then used some yummy Valdani threads to add Colonial Knots for the pupils, and stem stitching for the mouth and whiskers.  

IMG_2604

~~~~~~~~~~
Lovingly Lexi

When I first looked at the April quilt this is what popped out at me:
Apr-Kal-overlay_jpg_300x300_q85

Do you see it too?  I know that this is an Octagon, but I used my creative license to use my most favorite shape of the month the Hexagon.  

And as an April Birthday Baby, sometimes Easter Shares my Birthday Month and Sometimes it doesn’t.  So I wanted to make a Calendar Page that could both be “Eastery” or just “Springy”.  

Lay and adhere 1/2″ strips of patterned paper side by side and at an angle on a separate sheet of paper. Then I laid this super cool overlay (That I created and cut out of my favorite Silhouette Cameo) on the top of the striped bottom. 
IMG_3499 (1)
I stitched down the right side and bottom of the page to add dimension and help to adhere the 2 pages together.  I tucked in a white photo mat.  

IMG_3500

I also created the “April” title page in my Silhouette Software. It is popped off the page with 3 dimensional foam.  And because you can’t have an April without a little glitter, I covered the flower with Lime Green Stickles. 

Leave a Reply

