Calendar Makeover 3 Ways- MARCH

March Calendar Wall Hanging

Mar-GMother'sFan
Original

StashMomma’s Original
March-GM Fan
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Quilted
Harmonies

I realized this month that my whole life is a lie.  Or, at least, my life when it comes to the monthly calendar wall hangings.  I have hung April’s thinking it was March for these past 20 years.  I was finally corrected when I began this project, and it required me to go back to the drawing board.  
I have been absolutely dying to try making English Hand Paper Pieced Hexagons ever since Houston Market in October when I took a mini class from Katya Marek.  I wondered if it was possible to incorporate what I wanted to do with my assignment.  I googled “hexagons and grandmother’s fan quilt blocks, ” and a lot of hexie quilts and grandmother’s fan quilts came up, but nothing that combined the two. So, I started doodling.  My intent was to stick as closely to the original quilt as possible this month, but in my drawing, and cutting, and turning, and placing, I realized that I was drawn to something else.  You will notice that this time I kept the same number of “fans.”  I just rotated them around and placed them differently.

image_jpg_300x300_q85

My design was also inspired by the colors of fabric I wanted to use.  I don’t have anything I would consider “St. Patty’s” worthy, so thought this was the perfect time to rectify that oversight.   I had fat quarters of Palazzo by Greta Lynn for Kanvas fabrics in my stash, and I paired it with my newest addition from Andover, a piece from Alison Glass’ Sun Print collection.

 

IMG_2563

The “fans” are English Paper Pieced, and then I sewed them onto the background using a blind hem stitch.

 

IMG_2564

I love how vibrant the colors are, and how well the background fabric showcases the paper piecing I did!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
StashMomma

I really am a traditional kind of gal so with this project I am sticking pretty close to the original-just using more updated fabric, although I will confess to thoughts of going retro.  I suppressed the urge but who knows what might be coming in the next few months!
I have been working a lot these past few weeks with fabric from Anna Griffin’s line, The Sweet Siesta Collection by Shell Rummel, and absolutely fell in love with the Iris Dulce Mint fabric.  Don’t tell anyone but I just might be hoarding a bit of that fabric! I decided to use that as my first fabric in the fan and built around it.  As you can see, the finished project is quite muted but simple.  I did get a bit of retro in with lace from my decades old stash but the buttons are new.  Who says mixing old and new is boring!!

March wallhanging

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Lovingly Lexi

I was pretty excited to think about the fan’s with the lace detail on the March wall hanging.  I love pattern paper and I love using laces and ribbons to accent my scrapbook pieces.  I continued on with my Calendar Header.  My picture placement wasn’t so obvious with last months Calendar but this month I wanted the picture front and center.

IMG_3393
I am in love with the sparkly letters
(They are an old set from ChatterBox Artsy.licious in Peacock)

IMG_3394

I used super fun party toothpicks for the flags to hang onto. (The pointy end is underneath the flag.)

IMG_3395

A couple of other details that I added:
~Hot Pink Velvet Lace Ribbon from Websters…sewn on with a sewing machine.
~The corners of the picture holder are stitched into place.  I love the simple detail it gives.
~The Fans are embossed with a Darice Embossing Folder and run thru my Sizzix Big Shot machine.
(I find that if you emboss paper pieced items, it locks them into place better.  They paper won’t shift and it looks more finished.)

I loved how bright and fun my fans turned out so, I also whipped up a couple sets of cards to match.

Set 1:

Set 2:

I also created a PDF Tutorial if you would like to down load it
Click Here

Leave a Reply

