Calendar Makeover 3 Ways-FEBRUARY

Years ago, StashMomma got a calendar that had directions for a small wall hanging each month.

Feb-Hearts


Being the Over Achieving StashMomma that she is, she made each one… THREE times.  Yes, you read that right.  She made 36 wall hangings- one for each of us for EACH MONTH.  I remember asking her what craziness inspired that insane idea, and she commented that she wanted us all to have at least one thing in our homes that was the same so we could at least be together in spirit, if not in truth. (Ahhh… how sweet!)

SMoriginal

 

After all this time, however, we commented to each other that they were beginning to look, well… dated.  (It’s been probably 20 years or so since these babies were “born,” as evidenced by the Puff Paint the February wall hanging sports.  (Seriously, Mom – Puff Paint? )

And, just like that, our next idea was born.  Why not update the wall hanging with our own take on the pattern?  That is the crux of our designs, after all!  
~~~
StashMomma:
 Grabbing some fabric from my stash, this is my updated version of the Month of February. The hearts were created using Machine Appliqué. No puffy paint was harmed in the making! 😉
SMFeb
Hope your Valentine’s Day is filled with love!! 
~~~
Quilted Harmonies:
A friend of mine convinced me to sign up for a class at Road to California this year…It didn’t surprise me that she wanted to take a Wool class from Lisa Bongean of Primitive Gatherings since she has dragged me to her booth each and every time we are at a show together.  I jumped at the chance to take a class on hand embroidery, and I was so glad I did… BEST.CLASS.EVER!!  

But, I digress.  

I kept thinking about this assignment, and based on what I just learned from Lisa’s AWESOME class, I decided I wanted to try my hand at embroidering my own craziness.  So, I used scraps and pieces from the project I did in class, and this is what I came up with:  

IMG_2532

(Please note that this is NOT completed!  I have decided that part of the addiction of hand work is deciding when Enough is Enough.  And I haven’t quite got Enough yet.  Or, maybe Ever!)

IMG_2544

IMG_2535

Made with beautiful wool fabric scraps from my stash!

 

~~~
Lovingly
Lexi:
When we talked about how much fun it would be to remake the “monthly” wall hanging all I could think about was how to make it mine with a Scrapbooky Touch.  Every year I TRY to make a calendar for the Grandma’s (well see this post on my Holiday Hiccup this year). Since it was a bust for 2014 I thought about getting a jump start.This is what I came up with:
IMG_3359
Using this gorgeous line of paper from Authentique:Harmony.
I cut my hearts out with my Silhouette so they they were all the same dimensions.  Then I popped them off the page with foam dots to give the page some depth.    
IMG_3356
I added a touch of glitter (on the bird and the I Love You in the top left heart) and I also used my Pearl Pens to create little silver pearls around the “Find Yourself” circle and around the “I Love You”  Heart.
IMG_3357
I love how eclectic this page turned out.  The colors are traditional for Valentine’s Day but they are bright and sunny for a cool winter month.
Stay Tuned for our next Calendar Makeover done 3 ways!
Leave a Reply

