The 12″ Pillows

Happy Friday!  My honey left for a fishing trip last night and I am gearing up to host a couple of girlfriends for a weekend of scrapbooking.  I constantly have like 12 or 13 projects going at the same time.  I love scheduling in weekends devoted to one thing.  I feel so accomplished when I finished up even 1 or 2 of those UFO (Un Finished Objects).  As I was tiding up my house, (you know, hiding piles behind closet doors & dusting the most obvious surface offenders) I was refolding the quilt that lives in my “formal” living room/music room.
I call this quilt my music quilt:

 

MusicQuiltFront_jpg_300x300_q85

The back story on this quilt: My parents met up with my family in Grand Junction CO one fall weekend.  While the boys were at Cabella’s doing “man things”, Mom and I made our own little fabric store shop hop.  The “WAY BACK” story on one of the store: it was in business 37+ years ago when my parents lived in a little mountain town called Paonia CO (right around the same time I was born). So as we were hopping (down memory lane also) we ran across this darling quilt kit.  I fell in love.  My mom said that she would like to make it for me as my Christmas gift.  Sign me up!! Fast forward to Christmas, and guess what I got to unwrap? Yep, my music quilt.And here is the back of it (I seriously love the pieced back trend!)  

MusicQuiltBack_jpg_300x300_q85

We don’t often use the formal living room, but I do like to go in there and snuggle under a blanket with a good book, and sometimes when I am playing the piano the kids will come in and snuggle up and listen.  😉

Several weeks after Christmas my mom called me asking if I would like a couple of throw pillows because she had some scraps of the quilt fabric left.  Who am I to say no?!  I told her I already had a couple of throw pillows that I could repurpose with new covers.  Mom asked me several times to measure them for her and I completely dropped the ball.   She called me one morning while I was out grocery shopping again asking for the measurements.  
I said: “They must be about 12″x12″.  Yes, I am sure that is the size of them. Go for it!”
She went for it.  BUT my pillow forms were NOT 12″x12″ they were more like 21″x21″.
Major OOOOPS!  

MusicQuiltPillows_jpg_300x300_q85

Aren’t they DARLING!!  
(Since I did not have 12″ pillow forms, I got a new set for my birthday!)

So the moral of the story is:
When your mom wants to make something special for you,
make sure you measure twice and call her once!!
MusicQuiltPillows2_jpg_300x300_q85

Here is my quilt in the living room and the
12″ pillow next to a “normal” sized pillow.

Have you ever undersized or oversized a project?
What was the outcome.  Share in the comments or on our Facebook Page!!

Leave a Reply

