“I Often Go Walking”

I love flowers! I love all the different colors!  I love that some smell sweet and some smell not so sweet!  I love that the birds and the bees play and work among the blossoms!  I especially love the flowers that bloom in the Spring!  Those hardy little bulbs that just keep reaching skyward and pushing their stems until at last they break through the frosty soil!  Yes, I live in a climate that experiences the four seasons with temperatures ranging from below freezing to above 100.  So all the more admiration I have for these hardy little plants that year in and year out just continue to do what they were made to do!

All winter long, when the ground is frozen and often covered with snow, I eagerly look forward to when the calendar says that spring should arrive because I love to see the first crocus pop through and the daffodils start budding out.

circledaffodils

redwhitetulipstree

borderdaffodils

But my favorite flower is the tulip.  This is the flower that takes my breath away when I see it blooming for the first time in the year.  My idea of “Camelot” would be that tulips bloomed naturally all year long.  But as with all good things, the tulips only last so long.  Each day of tulip season I try to stop and admire their beauty.

I love to see flowers in random places as the splash of color they display adds to the beauty and serenity of the area.

workshoptulips
cottagetulips

rockstulipstree

My mother also loved flowers so I’m quite sure that I inherited that trait from her.  In her later years, nothing gave her more pleasure and contentment than working in her yard among her many flower beds.  I’ll never forget the afternoon I spent with her in her backyard.  We talked and reminisced as she crawled on her knees weeding her flowers.  Interspersed with our conversation was her talking with the flowers and plants, encouraging them to continue their growth and beauty.

I remember a song that I learned as a youth and each time I sing it I give thanks to my mother for sharing her love of flowers with me.

“I often go walking in meadows of clover, and I gather armfuls of blossoms of blue.

I gather the blossoms the whole meadow over; Dear mother, all flowers remind me of you.
O mother, I give you my love with each flower to give forth sweet fragrance a whole lifetime through:
For if I love blossoms and meadows and walking, I learn how to love them, dear mother, from you.”
Phyllis Luch

Soon the crocus, daffodils, and tulips will be gone and it will be time for the peonies, irises, and roses.  I look forward to watching these flowers bud, and then bloom, giving their beauty to the world!

Oh how I love flowers!

Leave a Reply

