Hang Your Art

I found the most exquisite pattern for a fabric wall hanging and  after many hours of meticulous work have finished it.  The next  step is to answer a series of questions in determining how the finished work of fabric art is to be hung on my wall for display.

Tabs

African Women

I have selected a prominent place for the work and must now determine the characteristics of the wall where it will hang and what I want the hanging hardware to look like.  These questions will inform my choices:

What type of wall surface will it be hung on, sheetrock, brick, cement?

Do I want a rod showing?
Do I want to use a rod and clips?
Do I want it to be hung with the hanging hardware seen or unseen?

Is a hanging sleeve sewn on the back required?

My answers to these questions will determine the type of hardware used.  These questions need to be asked every single time I have a creation that must be hung.  There really is no right or wrong way to use other than the method chosen should be in harmony with the art.  Consequently in my home I have used a variety of methods to hang quilted wall hangings.

I will be perfectly honest here and say that I have rarely been the one to hang my creations.  I have delegated that responsibility to my main man who always does this task better than I could ever do and right or wrong, I feel it gives him a connection to the art.   After having done considerable research on the multiple methods of hanging wall art, we now agree on a favorite.

Sleeve

serengeti

Knotted cord

Rug weaving

The commercially available hangers are trademarked as Hang Your Glass.  We have easily adapted these simple, but very effective hangers to large and small quilted fabric wall hangings.  The simplicity of the hanger is great.  A simple bracket is attached to the wall with a single screw.  Depending on the wall material, a variety of methods are readily available for attaching the bracket to the wall.  Conditional on the weights of the quilt, either a single or double bracket configuration can be applied.

The graphic below illustrates the hanger.

 Hang your art

A sleeve can be sewn to the full length of the quilt or tabs can be sewn on the back of the quilt.  Narrow quilts can be hung by attaching the locking spool to the center of a dowel or dimensional wooden support piece.  Depending on the width of the quilt to be hung the wooden support is sized to avoid detection.  On longer spans the locking spool is attached at the end of the support piece.  The length of the wooden support can extend beyond the edges of the quilt for an alternate effect.  Tabs can also be sewn to the top edge of the quilt, through which the support piece is placed.  The photo below shows the various configurations for the locking spool and the wooden support piece.

HangYourArt1
This method of hanging quilts facilitates a consistently level hanging and ease in removal to exchange the quilt for another creation.

Hang Your Glass hardware can be found at hangyourglass.com/locking.html

What is your favorite way to hang your art?

Leave a Reply

