Wednesday: The Wesley Block WEEK 5

The Wesley Block: Stripes and Bows

The inspiration for the Wesley Block came from one of my adorable and creative grandchildren.  I asked JW to create a quilt design and this block is what he designed.  I love the simplicity and adaptability of it.  Not only can the Wesley Block be configured for a variety of different designs by just rotating the block but also by incorporating different color schemes and fabric styles in an endless number of unique and exciting quilt designs.  I have had so much fun playing with my colored pencils and markers in drawing different variations utilizing this block.

WBStripe

With this quilt top, I decided to simply rotate the block to create the large parallelograms separated with the angled bow tie.  Also I wanted to emphasize the vertically oriented stripe look rather than the horizontal stripe.  I love the Moda Zen Chic line of fabric so I chose coordinating fat quarters to create the look I wanted.  While I used new fabric for my quilt,  the Wesley Block lends itself very well as you apply your unlimited imagination to create an innumerable variety of charming quilts made with scraps from your stash.

Leave a Reply

